What is an authentication token?

An authentication token (security token) is a hardware or software device required for a user to access an application or a network system in a more secure way.

Zero Trust MFA

What exactly is an authentication token?

An authentication token (security token) is a “trusted device” used to access an electronically restricted resource (usually an application or a corporate network). It can be seen as an electronic key that enables a user to authenticate and prove his identity by storing some sort of personal information.

Security tokens provide an extra level of security to access data or a network through a method known as multifactor authentication (MFA).

How does it work?

All trusted devices (authentication tokens) contain data created by the server and that is used to prove the identity of a particular user. The purpose of a token is to generate an One-Time Password (OTP) which will then be validated by the server.

But first, the user must enroll his token which means he/she has registered the device with his/her account. It is only once this process is completed that the token becomes a “trusted device”.

A token-based authentication is successful if a user can prove to a server that he or she is the legitimate user thanks to the security token. In this case, the service (i.e the application, the network, etc.) validates the security token and processes the user's request to login.

What are the different types of Authentication tokens?

Authentication tokens are generally divided into 2 groups: Hardware tokens (or Hard token) and Software tokens (or Soft token).

Hardware tokens

A hardware token is a small physical device. The two most common physical tokens on the market are smart cards and USB tokens. However, they require the user to have a smart card reader and an USB port respectively.

Software tokens

A software token is not physically tangible, it is a virtual piece of software that is installed on a user's electronic “device”. It can be either a computer, a smartphone, a tablet and in one unique case, a browser. Indeed, thanks to the advanced technology of random dynamic keys, a techno patented by inWebo, a user can authenticate by using a Browser Token (Deviceless MFA).

What are the benefits of using Software tokens?

Software tokens have several advantages when compared to hardware tokens.

Better user experience

As users become increasingly mobile and connected to the cloud, software tokens are able to adapt and maintain the balance between user experience and security. Leading software token providers can even offer a passwordless MFA login experience.
In addition, by providing a better user experience than physical tokens, they greatly simplify the task of IT teams.

Cost-effective

The logistics costs are much lower than for hardware tokens: no additional cost to deploy each new token (they can be deployed very quickly on a large scale) and they are less likely to be lost or forgotten.

Up to date

Software tokens are always up to date as they can be updated remotely. This is a huge relief for the IT teams in comparison to hardware tokens.

Did you know that a token could be deviceless?

As mentioned earlier in the types of software tokens, the browser is now the only token that no longer requires specific equipment. Also known as "Deviceless MFA", this technology is unique on the market and is patented by inWebo.

You want to know more about this advanced technology? Check out our article and interview with 2 cybersecurity engineers.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrolment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

White Paper: The ABCs of Authentication

Download our free ebook to fully understand multifactor authentication (MFA), Zero Trust, Passwordless MFA, Devicesless MFA, OTP (One-Time Password) and authentication tokens.

Get in touch

Qu’est ce qu’un token d’authentification ?

Un token d’authentification (ou token de sécurité) est un dispositif matériel ou logiciel nécessaire à un utilisateur pour accéder à une application ou à un système réseau de manière plus sécurisée.

Zero Trust MFA

En quoi consistent exactement un token d’authentification ?

Un token d’authentification, aussi appelé « trusted device » (dispositif de confiance) en anglais, est utilisé pour accéder à une ressource à accès restreint (généralement une application ou un réseau d’entreprise). Il peut être considéré comme une clé électronique qui permet à un utilisateur de s’authentifier, en prouvant son identité, grâce au stockage d’un certain nombre d’informations personnelles.

Un token d’authentification permet de fournir un niveau de sécurité supplémentaire pour accéder aux données ou à un réseau par le biais d’une authentification multi-facteurs (MFA).

Comment cela fonctionne-t-il ?

Tous les tokens d’authentification contiennent des données créées par le serveur et qui sont utilisées pour prouver l’identité d’un utilisateur spécifique. Le but d’un token est de générer un One-Time Password (OTP) qui sera ensuite validé par le serveur.

Mais avant cela, l’utilisateur passe par un processus d’enrôlement, ce qui signifie qu’il aura enregistré son dispositif de confiance avec son compte. Ce n’est qu’une fois l’étape de l’enrôlement complétée que le token devient un « dispositif de confiance ».

Une authentification basée sur un token est réussie si un utilisateur peut prouver à au serveur qu’il est l’utilisateur légitime. Dans ce cas, le service (c’est-à-dire l’application, le réseau, etc.) valide le token et accepte la demande de connexion de l’utilisateur.

Quels sont les différents types de tokens d’authentification ?

Les tokens d’authentification sont généralement divisés en 2 groupes : les tokens matériels (Hardware tokens ou Hard token) et les tokens logiciels (Software tokens ou Soft token).

Les tokens matériels / Hardware tokens

Un token matériel est comme son nom l’indique un dispositif physique. Les plus courants sont les cartes à puce et les tokens USB. Cependant, ils exigent que l’utilisateur dispose soit d’un lecteur de carte à puce, soit d’un port USB adapté.

Les tokens logiciels / Software token

Contrairement au hardware token, il ne sont pas physiquement tangibles. Il s’agit d’un logiciel virtuel qui est installé sur le « device » (équipement électronique) d’un utilisateur. Il peut s’agir d’un ordinateur, d’un smartphone, d’une tablette et, dans un cas unique, d’un navigateur. En effet, grâce à la technologie avancée des clés dynamiques aléatoires, une technique développée par inWebo, un utilisateur peut s’authentifier en utilisant son navigateur comme token (Deviceless MFA).

Quels sont les avantages des tokens logiciels ?

Les tokens logiciels (Software tokens) présentent plusieurs avantages par rapport aux tokens matériels (Hardware tokens).

Meilleure expérience utilisateur

Les utilisateurs étant toujours plus mobiles et de plus en plus connectés au cloud, les tokens logiciels sont capables de s’adapter et de maintenir l’équilibre entre expérience utilisateur et sécurité. Les principaux fournisseurs de tokens logiciels peuvent même offrir une expérience de connexion sans mot de passe (passwordless MFA).
De plus, en offrant une meilleure expérience utilisateur que les tokens physiques, ils simplifient grandement la tâche des équipes informatiques.

Plus économiquement avantageux

Les coûts logistiques sont beaucoup plus faibles que pour les tokens matériels : pas de coût supplémentaire pour déployer chaque nouveau token (ils peuvent être déployés très rapidement à grande échelle) et ils sont bien moins susceptibles d’être perdus ou oubliés.

Constamment mis à jour

Les tokens logiciels sont constamment à jour car ils peuvent être mis à jour à distance. Cela représente un réel soulagement pour les équipes informatiques par rapport aux tokens matériels.

Saviez-vous qu’un token pouvait être « deviceless » ?

Comme évoqué précédemment dans les types de tokens logiciels (software tokens), le navigateur est aujourd’hui le seul token qui ne nécessite plus d’équipement spécifique. Cette technologie, également appelée « Deviceless MFA », est unique sur le marché et est brevetée par inWebo.

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur cette technologie avancée ? Consultez notre article et l’interview de deux ingénieurs en cybersécurité.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Livre blanc : L'ABC de l'authentification forte

Téléchargez notre livre blanc pour tout comprendre sur l'authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), le Zero Trust, le passwordless, le Devicesless MFA, les OTP (One-Time Password) et les tokens d'authentification.

Contactez-nous