Why CISOs should consider a CARTA approach

As cybersecurity is evolving rapidly, businesses can find it difficult to keep up with the changes - while hackers seek to exploit these vulnerabilities and outdated security policies. Agility is urgently needed in information security and risk management to keep pace with the digital enterprise. This is exactly what the CARTA model advocates, gaining traction among enterprise IT teams.
IT-laptop-security

What does CARTA (from Gartner) stand for?

CARTA = Continuous Adaptive Risk and Trust Assessment

The CARTA framework is a strategic approach introduced by Gartner that pushes organizations to embrace a continuously adaptive approach to information security. To cut a long story short, Gartner sees CARTA as a way for organizations to manage risks arising from the digital world by deploying an agile security posture that evolves at the speed of digital business.

Zero Trust as a key pillars of CARTA’s approach (Gartner)

One can wonder what’s the difference between CARTA and the Zero Trust model. Both frameworks share several common attributes as they aim to reduce risk and improve access and attack protection.

But CARTA takes the Zero Trust network security model further with among others: adaptive security decisions, contextual access control and continuous monitoring, assessment, discovery and risk prioritization.

Read our article on the Zero Trust model

Why switch to the Gartner CARTA model

Cloud, Mobile technology and Internet of Things (IoT) are all part of the digital transformation with a common impact: they make static approaches to enterprise security completely irrelevant. As such, to assess, prioritize and remediate vulnerabilities and risks, there is no doubt in the fact that a dynamic and continuous approach is needed.

CARTA's roadmap is a useful way to implement a security program that will defend an ever-expanding attack surface, which is often perimeterless.

Transform user authentication with a CARTA approach

Building a strategy based on the CARTA approach involves looking for products and services that can provide a resilient response to advanced threats and improve the user experience.

Gartner has identified 4 main forces that drive the user authentication market: Cloud, mobile, experience, digitalization. And, as illustrated in the figure below, CARTA is a core component of user authentication.

User_Authentication_Gartner_CARTA-MFA
Looking closely at the figure, MFA is far from being disconnected from Gartner's CARTA framework. Quite the opposite in fact as it is involved at several levels of the confluence of forces driving the user authentication.

inWebo MFA aligned with CARTA security model

Zero Trust

Although there is no distinct solution for building a Zero Trust environment, Multifactor authentication (MFA), or strong authentication, is a key component to achieving Zero Trust. But for that, it is important to go for a MFA that is natively 2 factor - most legacy “MFA” tools are really only “+1FA” tools.

inWebo MFA is a real 2 factor solution that, thanks to its patented technology, provides the highest level of security on the market while improving the user experience.

72% of organisations are considering adopting a Zero Trust policy in the future or have already done so

Statista

Cloud security

Cloud security is becoming an increasingly important investment as companies rapidly adopt cloud services, increasing their exposure to phishing and other attacks. Multifactor Authentication (MFA) is an excellent cloud security tool for professional workforces.

Delivered in SaaS mode, inWebo MFA can be implemented not only on all cloud applications, but also on VPN, PAM, SSO and IAM. A single solution is enough to secure all data entry points, whether internal or external.

Smartphonesless MFA / MFA

MFA strategies usually come with a focus on smartphones. But “mobile MFA” can be a constraint for organizations, users and integrators. inWebo’s technology is the only MFA solution that features a browser token, also known as Deviceless MFA.

This means that end users can authenticate and access their apps, network and data only by using any browser, without the need to have a physical key, a smartphone or company-owned computer, or to install specific hardware or software.

Another advantage of Deviceless MFA is that the same browser can be used by different users who will each have their own authentication. This is very useful on shared computers in order to maintain a high level of connection security and distinguish the various users using the accesses.

Passwordless MFA

One of the challenges of MFA solutions is clearly the login experience. IT teams are looking for a way to provide a fluide and simple user authentication experience for greater user acceptance and to prevent users from bypassing security policies.

85% of IT professionals want their organisation to reduce the number of passwords used on a daily basis

LastPast report

Choosing a passwordless MFA solution (passwordless) like inWebo is not only more convenient for users to connect to data, it is also more secure, both in its technical design and because it removes the need for password management, one of the weakest links in access security.

A passwordless connection can be made by means of biometric authentication or by using a PIN code, which is more cyber user-friendly and easy to remember.

See our blog post on "How to migrate to passwordless authentication in 3 lines of code".

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrolment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

Our latest news

Request a demo

Pourquoi les RSSI devraient envisager une approche CARTA

Les entreprises ont parfois du mal à suivre le rythme – rapide – des évolutions de la sécurité, pour le grand bénéfice des hackers qui exploitent les vulnérabilités non patchées et les politiques de sécurité dépassées. Faire preuve d’agilité en matière de sécurité informatique et de gestion des risques est aujourd’hui un impératif. C’est exactement ce que défend le modèle CARTA, qui gagne du terrain auprès des équipes IT.
IT-laptop-security

Qu’est ce que l’approche CARTA (Gartner) ?

CARTA = Continuous Adaptive Risk and Trust Assessment (évaluation adaptative continue du risque et de la confiance numérique)

Le modèle CARTA, introduit par Gartner, invite les entreprises à adopter une approche adaptative continue de la sécurité de l’information. Pour résumer, Gartner considère CARTA comme un moyen de gérer les risques cyber en déployant une stratégie de sécurité agile capable d’évoluer au rythme de la société numérique.

Zero Trust comme pilier essentiel de l’approche CARTA (Gartner)

La distinction entre CARTA et le modèle « Zero Trust » n’est pas toujours évidente de prime abord. En effet, ils visent tous deux à réduire les risques et à améliorer la protection contre les accès et les attaques.

CARTA va toutefois plus loin que le modèle de sécurité « Zero Trust » en intégrant notamment les aspects suivants : décisions de sécurité adaptatives, contrôles d’accès contextuels et surveillance, évaluation, découverte et hiérarchisation des risques en continu.

Consultez notre article sur le modèle Zero Trust

Pourquoi adopter le modèle CARTA de Gartner

Le Cloud, la technologie mobile et l’Internet des Objets (IoT) font tous partie de la transformation numérique avec un impact commun : ils rendent les approches statiques de la sécurité en entreprise complètement inadaptées. Pour évaluer, hiérarchiser et remédier aux vulnérabilités et aux risques, une approche dynamique et continue est nécessaire.

La feuille de route du modèle CARTA constitue un excellent guide pour la mise en œuvre d’un programme de sécurité destiné à défendre une surface d’attaque en constante expansion, souvent dépourvue de périmètre.

Transformer l’authentification des utilisateurs avec une approche CARTA

Pour bâtir une stratégie basée sur l’approche CARTA, il est important de choisir des produits et solutions capables de fournir une réponse résiliente aux menaces avancées avec une dimension « expérience utilisateur » améliorée.

Gartner a identifié 4 forces principales qui dirigent le marché de l’authentification des utilisateurs :  le cloud, le mobile, l’expérience, la numérisation. Et comme l’illustre le schéma ci-dessous, l’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA) est un élément central de l’authentification des utilisateurs.

User_Authentication_Gartner_CARTA-MFA
Le MFA est ainsi loin d’être déconnecté du modèle CARTA de Gartner. Bien au contraire, il est impliqué à plusieurs niveaux dans la confluence des forces qui régissent l’authentification des utilisateurs.

inWebo MFA, un composant essentiel du modèle de sécurité CARTA

Zéro Trust

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de solution unique pour établir un environnement Zero Trust au sein des organisations, l’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), ou authentification forte, est un élément clé du dispositif. Il est toutefois nécessaire d’opter pour un MFA nativement 2 facteurs – la plupart des solutions MFA existantes sont en réalité « +1FA ».

inWebo MFA est une solution à 2 facteurs qui, grâce à sa technologie brevetée, fournit le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché tout en améliorant l’expérience utilisateur.

72 % des organisations envisagent d’adopter une politique de Zero Trust à l’avenir ou l’ont déjà adoptée

Statista

Sécurité du cloud

Avec l’essor de l’utilisation des services SaaS en entreprise, la sécurité du cloud prend une importance croissante. L’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), en contrôlant la validité des demandes d’accès aux ressources en ligne, est un maillon essentiel du dispositif de cybersécurité.

Fonctionnant en mode SaaS, inWebo MFA peut être implémenté sur toutes les applications cloud, mais aussi sur les VPN, PAM, SSO et IAM. Une seule solution suffit pour sécuriser tous les points d’entrée aux données, qu’ils soient internes ou externes.

Smartphonesless MFA / MFA sans smartphone

Les stratégies MFA s’appuient généralement sur les tokens smartphones. Cela peut constituer une contrainte pour les organisations, mais aussi pour les utilisateurs et intégrateurs. La technologie inWebo est la seule solution MFA qui propose un token navigateur, également connu sous le nom de Deviceless MFA. Cela signifie que les utilisateurs finaux peuvent s’authentifier et accéder à leurs applications, leur réseau et leurs données depuis n’importe quel navigateur.

Avec le Deviceless MFA, le navigateur web devient le « token » de confiance. Plus besoin de posséder un smartphone, ni d’avoir une clé physique, un smartphone professionnel ou un ordinateur ou encore d’installer une application spécifique.

Un autre avantage offert par cette technologie est la possibilité d’utiliser un même navigateur pour différents utilisateurs qui auront chacun leur propre authentification. Ceci est très utile sur les ordinateurs partagés afin de maintenir un niveau élevé de sécurité de connexion et de distinguer les différents utilisateurs utilisant les accès.

MFA sans mot de passe / Passwordless

L’expérience de connexion constitue clairement l’un des défis des solutions MFA. Les équipes informatiques cherchent un moyen d’offrir une expérience d’authentification fluide et simple pour une meilleure adhésion des utilisateurs, évitant ainsi qu’ils ne contournent les politiques de sécurité.

85 % des professionnels informatiques souhaitent que leur organisation réduise le nombre de mots de passe utilisés au quotidien

LastPast report

Le choix d’une solution MFA sans mot de passe (passwordless) comme inWebo permet aux utilisateurs de se connecter de manière plus sécurisée et plus simplement, en supprimant la gestion des mots de passe, l’un des maillons les plus faibles de la sécurité d’accès.

Une connexion passwordless peut se faire par le biais d’une authentification biométrique ou par l’utilisation d’un code PIN, plus cyber user-friendly et facile à retenir.

Consultez notre article de blog sur « comment migrer vers l’authentification sans mot de passe en 3 lignes de code ».

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Nos dernières actualités

Contactez-nous