What is CIAM, and why is it so important?

Customers tend to stick with digital applications and online web portals that promise a great user experience. As a result, companies work towards providing their users with a seamless and secure digital experience. And all that can be done using a CIAM solution.

data-files-access

Without the right technology, it can be difficult for companies to strike the right balance between providing a seamless user experience and enhancing data security.

This is where CIAM, or Customer Identity Access Management, comes into view. CIAM is a platform that offers customers a great user experience without compromising data security. Let's dive into CIAM in the subsequent headings below.

What is CIAM?

CIAM, or Customer Identity Access Management, is a management system that focuses on protecting digital identities while controlling customers' access to applications and web portals' resources and data.
In a way, CIAM does the job of two important staff in a company whenever a user wants to access an online portal: the receptionist who grants you access after verifying your identity and the IT security team that protects the company and all the data that's in its possession.

CIAM studies and understands user behaviour and collects and stores their data to ensure a smooth and privacy compliant experience.

CIAM is growing fast and steady amongst organizations, and this indicates how far it has come in the technology world.

A recent report had just been released¹ where the future of CIAM was discussed globally and current realities such as market definition and many others were addressed to further enhance its features and capabilities.

CIAM vs IAM: what are the differences?

IAM, or Identity and Access Management, is a broader concept of data security and access management. It is the starting point for CIAM.
If we look at the name of CIAM, we can see that it focuses on access and identity protection of customers (Customer IAM), whereas IAM controls and protects access and data of employees within the company's networks.

CIAM's scalability exceeds that of IAM because CIAM supports millions of users (customers) with multiple identities across various websites while IAM supports thousands of users (staff) at most, with just a single identity within the company.

Organisations depend on their customers to generate revenue from, and that is why CIAM is so important. CIAM is designed to enhance the customer's user experience. And the better the user experience, the higher the conversion and retention rates for organisations. Which means more revenue.

However, IAM doesn't operate that way. It focuses more on work efficiency amongst the staff of the organization. It makes sure that it grants the appropriate authorization to each staff while still making sure that their data is safe from theft or risk of loss.

Moreover, CIAM is more flexible than IAM.

Since CIAM must appeal to the customers so as not to frustrate their login process, it adopts data collection from existing CSPs (Customer Credential Services) like social media and google. This way, it centralizes the user access and management quickly while still maintaining the appropriate security.

IAM is not as flexible because they don't deal with multiple identities and only requires one point of access for the users.

Why is CIAM so important?

CIAM improves the user experience (UX)

Nowadays, customers don't settle for companies that produce quality products alone. Without a perfect customer experience, how else are they going to know that these companies have their best interest at heart?

Even something as simple as a login technology could affect a customer's experience with the company. A survey carried out by YouGov² has shown that many organizations have failed to satisfy their customers' expectations of a login technology, and this has affected their brands' user experience.

To avoid this, CIAM streamlines customers' experiences through personalized interactions and identification.

Through CIAM, companies get to know their customers and easily offer them the best options through their services.
It also simplifies access to web applications and portals by exploiting SSO (Single Sign-On) features. These allow a single access to several online platforms.

This feature has proven effective in enhancing the user experience as the same survey confirms that about 47% of customers are likely to use SSO to log in².

Allows for optimal security

CIAM ensures maximum protection for users' digital identity by adopting the Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) method. The increased rate of cyber hacking has subjected many companies to the risk of data loss. To combat this crime, companies now find comfort in this authentication mode.

MFA provides extra layers of security that discourage unauthorized access to users' data by using a combination of different factors proving the identity of the person trying to log in.

We all know that today, providing security must be stress-free for the consumers. This means that MFA should be triggered only when the system suspects unauthorized access by an intruder from an unknown device or location. This process is known as Adaptive Authentication or Adaptive MFA.

Check out our article on the differences between MFA and Adaptive MFA.

Facilitates compliance

CIAM, as part of its features, centralizes customers' data by gathering and collating it from different online web portals. This method aids the companies' data analytics in identifying the customer in one single view.

With data centralization, companies can now update and erase data in compliance with privacy regulations and consent management.

What are the main capabilities/functionalities of a CIAM?

User-friendly authentication

CIAM provides strong security for its users while still enabling a user-friendly platform to operate on. It incorporates SSO for frictionless access to applications for its users while introducing the use of MFA for additional security where necessary.

API integration

Using API integration, CIAM effectively gathers customers' identities and data via various applications and networks. The gathered information can now be incorporated into various other systems like CRM (Customer Relation Management), to further improve customers' satisfaction.

Behavioural analysis

CIAM uses behavioral analytics to study and understand customers' behavior across online websites. The analysis would then help in serving the customer by creating an even better user experience.
It doesn't stop there. The behavioral analysis makes it easier to detect unusual activities that don't correlate with the user's behavior, thereby facilitating better security.

Privacy and consent management

Customers have a right to decide on which of their information they want to share. With CIAM centralizing users' data, it is now easier for companies to make adjustments or amendments to data and consent, depending on the consumer's preference.

What are the CIAM's main use cases?

A common use case of CIAM is the seamless customers' interaction with online applications using SSO. It is difficult to remember every password and login credential used for various registrations to online web portals and networks.

To streamline customers' experience, the Single Sign-On (SSO) feature allows access to multiple applications with just one login credential. An example is the Google platform. Signing in to your Google mail account (Gmail) automatically signs you into Youtube, Google Drive, Google map, Google play store, Google photos, and other Google-related applications.

Another case is where SSO uses your existing information from Customer Credential Services (CSPs) like your social media information; Instagram or Facebook to log you into other applications. This helps to create one point of access and helps you manage your login credentials so you don't have to keep on storing and remembering passwords for different applications.

How to orchestrate the customer journey using a CIAM?

It is important to understand the entire user journey while implementing CIAM. Right from verifying customers' identities to authorizing customers' access to their data and resources, you should be able to see the journey from the customer's point of view.

That's why here at inWebo, we now have the perfect CIAM orchestrator technology, the inWebo Trustbuilder orchestrator. This technology greatly enhances user identification and login experience by centralizing identity management across geographical zones, reducing security risks, and adapting to changes in regulatory requirements.

inWebo's TrustBuilder orchestration technology works with a graphical workflow interface. This allows you to connect all kinds of applications and data sources and easily orchestrate the user journey.

What is Customer Identity and Access Management (CIAM)?
CIAM, or Customer Identity Access Management, is a management system that focuses on protecting digital identities while controlling customers' access to applications and web portals' resources and data. CIAM studies and understands the users' behavior while collating and storing their data to ensure a smooth user experience that complies with privacy regulations.
What are the main features of a CIAM solution?
A CIAM has many capabilities, but to outline the main features provided by the CIAM solution we will mention: user-friendly authentication with SSO and Adaptive MFA, API integration, behavioural analysis and privacy and consent management.
What is the difference between IAM and CIAM?
IAM controls and protects the access and data of an employee within corporate networks while CIAM focuses on customers' access and identity protection. Hence, CIAM's scalability exceeds that of IAM because CIAM supports millions of users (customers) with multiple identities across various websites while IAM supports thousands of users (staff) at most, with just a single identity within the company. Moreover, CIAM is more flexible than IAM.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrollment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

Our latest news

Request a demo

Qu’est-ce qu’un CIAM, et en quoi est-il si important ?

Les consommateurs et internautes ont tendance à privilégier les applications numériques et les portails web en ligne qui promettent une expérience utilisateur de qualité. Par conséquent, les entreprises travaillent à offrir à leurs utilisateurs une expérience numérique fluide et sécurisée. Et tout ceci est rendu possible avec une solution CIAM.

data-files-access

Sans la technologie adéquate, il est parfois difficile pour les entreprises de trouver le juste équilibre entre offrir une excellente expérience utilisateur et renforcer la sécurité des données.

C’est là que CIAM, ou Customer Identity Access Management, entre en jeu. Le CIAM est une solution qui offre aux clients une excellente expérience utilisateur sans compromettre la sécurité des données. Regardons de plus près ce qu’est le CIAM.

Qu’est ce que le CIAM?

CIAM, ou Customer Identity Access Management, est un logiciel de gestion qui vise à protéger les identités numériques tout en contrôlant l’accès des utilisateurs aux ressources et aux données des applications et des portails web.
Pour simplifier, le CIAM joue le rôle de deux personnes clés dans une entreprise lorsqu’un utilisateur souhaite accéder à un portail ou une application en ligne : le réceptionniste qui vous accorde l’accès après avoir vérifié votre identité, et l’équipe de sécurité informatique qui protège l’entreprise et toutes les données en sa possession.

Le CIAM se charge d’étudier et de comprendre le comportement des utilisateurs tout en rassemblant et en stockant leurs données afin de leur garantir une expérience fluide et conforme aux règles de confidentialité.

Il n’est pas étonnant de constater que le CIAM connaît une croissance rapide et régulière au sein des organisations. Cela montre à quel point il a progressé dans le monde de la technologie.

Un rapport consacré à l’avenir de CIAM a été récemment publié¹. Il aborde les réalités actuelles, telles que la définition du marché et bien d’autres, en vue de proposer de nouvelles fonctionnalités et capacités.

CIAM vs IAM : quelles sont les différences ?

IAM, ou Identity and Access Management, est un concept plus large de sécurité des données et de gestion des accès. Il constitue le point de départ du CIAM.
Si on se réfère à l’appellation du CIAM, on constate qu’il se concentre sur l’accès et la protection de l’identité des clients (Customer IAM) alors que l’IAM contrôle et protège l’accès et les données des employés au sein des réseaux de l’entreprise.

La capacité à monter en charge (scalability) du CIAM doit alors dépasser celle de l’IAM, car le CIAM prend en charge des millions d’utilisateurs (clients) avec des identités multiples sur différents sites Web, tandis que l’IAM prend en charge des milliers d’utilisateurs (personnel) au maximum, avec une seule identité au sein de l’entreprise.

La rentabilité des organisations dépend de leurs clients, et c’est pourquoi le CIAM est si important. Le CIAM a été conçu pour améliorer l’expérience utilisateurs des clients. Plus l’expérience utilisateur est bonne, plus les organisations gagnent en conversion et en fidélisation. Ce qui sous entend une augmentation des revenus.

L’IAM ne fonctionne pas sur le même principe que le CIAM. L’IAM se concentre davantage sur l’efficacité du travail du personnel de l’organisation. Il s’assure qu’il accorde l’autorisation appropriée à chaque membre du personnel tout en veillant à ce que leurs données soient protégées contre le vol ou le risque de perte.

Le CIAM est plus flexible que l’IAM.

Étant donné que CIAM doit faire appel aux clients afin de ne pas frustrer leur processus de connexion, il adopte la collecte de données à partir des CSP (Customer Credential Services) existants, comme par exemple les médias sociaux et Google. De cette façon, il centralise rapidement l’accès et la gestion des utilisateurs tout en maintenant la sécurité appropriée. Mais aussi et surtout, il facilite l’expérience de connexion en ouvrant plusieurs choix d’authentification.

Quant à l’IAM, il n’est pas aussi flexible car il ne traite pas les identités multiples et ne requiert qu’un seul point d’accès pour les utilisateurs.

Pourquoi le CIAM est-il si important ?

Améliore l’expérience de l’utilisateur (UX)

Dans le monde numérique, les clients ne se contentent pas seulement de bénéficier d’une bonne qualité de produit lorsqu’ils décident d’acheter auprès d’une entreprise. Sans une expérience client parfaite, comment vont-ils savoir que ces entreprises ont leur intérêt à cœur ?

Gardez en tête qu’un élément aussi simple qu’une technologie de connexion peut avoir un impact sur l’expérience d’un client avec une entreprise. Une enquête réalisée par YouGov² a en effet montré que de nombreuses organisations ont vu leur expérience de marque affectée par l’incapacité à satisfaire les attentes clients en matière de parcours de connexion.

Pour éviter cela, le CIAM rationalise l’expérience des clients grâce à des interactions et une identification personnalisées.

A travers le CIAM, les entreprises apprennent ainsi à connaître leurs clients et à leur proposer facilement les meilleures options à travers leurs services.
Il permet également de simplifier l’accès aux applications et portails Web en exploitant des fonctionnalités de SSO (Single Sign-On). Celles-ci permettent un accès unique à plusieurs plateformes en ligne.

Cette fonction s’est avérée efficace pour améliorer l’expérience des utilisateurs, puisque la même enquête confirme qu’environ 47 % des clients sont susceptibles d’utiliser le SSO pour se connecter².

Permet une sécurité optimale

En proposant un système d’authentification multifacteur (MFA), le CIAM assure une sécurité maximale de l’identité numérique des utilisateurs. La recrudescence du cyber-piratage a soumis de nombreuses entreprises au risque de perte de données. Pour lutter contre cette criminalité, les entreprises trouvent désormais un réconfort dans ce mode d’authentification qu’est ce le MFA.

Le MFA fournit des couches supplémentaires de sécurité qui découragent l’accès non autorisé aux données des utilisateurs en utilisant la combinaison de différents facteurs prouvant l’identité de la personne qui essaye de se connecter.

Plus que jamais, la sécurité doit aussi être exempte de stress pour les consommateurs. Pour cela, le MFA doit être déclenché que lorsque le système soupçonne un accès non autorisé par un intrus à partir d’un appareil ou d’un lieu inconnu. On parle alors d’une authentification Adaptative ou Adaptative MFA.

Découvrez notre article sur les différences entre MFA et Adaptative MFA.

Facilite la mise en conformité / compliance

Parmi ses caractéristiques, le CIAM centralise les données des clients en les collectant et en les rassemblant à partir de différents portails Web en ligne. Cette méthode facilite l’analyse des données des entreprises en identifiant le client en une seule vue.

Du fait de la centralisation des données, les entreprises peuvent désormais mettre à jour et effacer les données en conformité avec les réglementations sur la confidentialité et la gestion des consentements.

Quelles sont les principales capacités / fonctionnalités d’un CIAM ?

Authentification user-friendly

En plus de fournir une sécurité forte à ses utilisateurs, le CIAM crée une expérience user-friendly. Il intègre du SSO et de l’adaptative MFA pour un accès simple et sécurisé aux applications.

Intégration d’API

En utilisant l’intégration API, le CIAM recueille efficacement les identités et les données des clients via diverses applications et réseaux. Ces informations peuvent alors être intégrées à d’autres systèmes tels que le CRM (Customer Relation Management). Ceci encore une fois, afin d’améliorer la satisfaction des clients.

Analyse comportementale

L’analyse comportementale est utilisée par les solutions CIAM pour étudier et comprendre le comportement des internautes. Ces analyses contribuent à améliorer le service rendu au client en créant une expérience utilisateur encore meilleure. Et cela ne s’arrête pas là. L’analyse comportementale permet de détecter plus facilement les activités inhabituelles, ce qui facilite une meilleure sécurité.

Gestion de la vie privée et du consentement

Tout client a le droit de décider quelles sont les informations qu’il souhaite partager. Dans la mesure où le CIAM centralise les données des utilisateurs, il est désormais plus facile pour les entreprises d’apporter des ajustements ou des modifications aux données et au consentement, en fonction de la préférence du consommateur.

Quels sont les principaux cas d’utilisation du CIAM ?

Un des cas d’utilisation les plus courants du CIAM est celui du SSO qui permet aux clients de se connecter de manière transparente aux applications en ligne. Il est difficile de se souvenir de tous les mots de passe et identifiants de connexion utilisés pour les différentes inscriptions aux portails et réseaux web en ligne.

Pour rationaliser l’expérience des clients, la fonction d’ouverture de session unique (SSO) permet d’accéder à plusieurs applications avec un seul identifiant de connexion. La plateforme Google en est un exemple. En vous connectant à votre compte de messagerie Google (Gmail), vous accédez automatiquement à Youtube, Google Drive, Google map, Google play store, Google photos et à d’autres applications liées à Google.

Dans un autre cas, le SSO utilise les informations existantes des services d’accréditation des clients (CSP), notamment celles des réseaux sociaux (Instagram ou Facebook), pour identifier et autoriser l’accès à d’autres applications. Cela permet de créer un point d’accès unique et permet de gérer ses identifiants de connexion afin de ne pas avoir une pléthore de mots de passe à stocker et à retenir.

Comment orchestrer le parcours client à l’aide d’un CIAM ?

Il est important de comprendre l’ensemble du parcours de l’utilisateur au moment de déployer une solution CIAM. De la vérification de l’identité des clients à leur autorisation d’accès à leurs données et ressources, vous devez être en mesure de voir le parcours du point de vue du client.

C’est pourquoi inWebo dispose désormais de la technologie d’orchestration CIAM parfaite, l’orchestrateur inWebo Trustbuilder. Cette technologie améliore considérablement l’identification des utilisateurs et l’expérience de connexion en centralisant la gestion des identités à travers les zones géographiques, en réduisant les risques de sécurité et en s’adaptant aux changements des exigences réglementaires.

La technologie d’orchestration inWebo TrustBuilder fonctionne avec une interface graphique de workflow. On peut ainsi y connecter toutes sortes d’applications et sources de données et orchestrer facilement le parcours des utilisateurs.

Qu'est-ce que la gestion des identités et des accès des clients (CIAM) ?
Le CIAM, ou Customer Identity Access Management, est un outil de gestion qui vise à protéger les identités numériques tout en contrôlant l’accès des clients aux ressources et aux données des applications et des portails web. Une solution CIAM étudie et comprend le comportement des utilisateurs tout en rassemblant et en stockant leurs données afin de garantir une expérience utilisateur fluide et conforme aux réglementations en matière de confidentialité.
Quelles sont les principales caractéristiques d'une solution CIAM ?
Un CIAM a de nombreuses capacités, mais pour présenter les principales fonctionnalités offertes par une solution CIAM, nous citerons : une authentification user-friendly avec du SSO et de l’adaptative MFA, l’intégration d’API, l’analyse comportementale et la gestion de la vie privée et du consentement.
Quelle est la différence entre IAM et CIAM ?
L’IAM contrôle et protège l’accès et les données d’un employé au sein des réseaux d’entreprise, tandis que CIAM se concentre sur l’accès et la protection de l’identité des clients. Par conséquent, la scalabilité du CIAM dépasse celle de l’IAM, car le CIAM prend en charge des millions d’utilisateurs (clients) avec des identités multiples sur différents sites Web, tandis que l’IAM prend en charge des milliers d’utilisateurs (employés) au maximum, avec une seule identité au sein de l’entreprise. Qui plus est, le CIAM est plus flexible que IAM.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Nos dernières actualités

Demandez une demo