What is Deviceless MFA?

When discussing strong authentication and tokens, one often refers to smartphones, security keys and smart cards. Unfortunately, these devices come with constraints not only for users, but also for developers and integrators. Deviceless MFA meets the challenges of cybersecurity without compromising the user experience or the ease of deployment for companies.

Deviceless MFA, what is it exactly?

Deviceless MFA is a multifactor authentication technology that allows end users to authenticate and access their apps, network and data only by using any browser, without the need to have a physical key, a smartphone or company-owned computer, or to install specific hardware or software.

With Deviceless MFA, the web browser is the trusted "device" to securely authenticate access.

Why use Deviceless MFA?

There are many benefits for using Deviceless MFA given the realities of today’s workplace issues, access to technologies and security landscape.

Frictionless login without equipment constraints

Deviceless MFA is a universal token, accessible to all and available immediately. The enrollment process is completely transparent for the user and authentication is seamless thanks to a passwordless connection without having to retype an OTP. In addition, end-users are freed from the constraints related to their equipment.

High protection against phishing attacks

In addition to securing access from the browser, Deviceless MFA is the most reliable token to protect from phishing attacks. It is indeed the only token that can verify that the url on which the authentication is attempted is legitimate, thus blocking any phishing attempt done on a fake website.

Secure multi-user connections

Another advantage of Deviceless MFA is that the same browser can be used by different users who will each have their own authentication. This is very useful on shared computers in order to maintain a high level of connection security and distinguish the various users using the accesses.

Facilitate and secure BYOD

Deviceless MFA is a relief for the administrators. They no longer need to provide specific hardware to users (external service providers, employees without mobile computing equipment, partners, etc.). It is THE token to promote BYOD while raising security level.

Simple and rapid way to implement MFA

Sometimes, like when a pandemic strikes, you may have to launch into an MFA project with immediate emergency. When specific security policies make it difficult to install an application or require a laborious and time-consuming procedure, Deviceless is a time-saver. There is nothing to install, deployment is done very quickly in a few clicks thanks to a large number of connectors, without installation, and without needing human contact.

How does Deviceless MFA work?

Deviceless MFA relies on a JavaScript that runs in the user's browser. However, only random dynamic keys makes Deviceless MFA possible and above all, ultra-secure. It is a unique technology patented by inWebo.

Check out our interview with two cybersecurity engineers to know more about Deviceless MFA.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrolment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

White Paper: The ABCs of Authentication

Download our free ebook to fully understand multifactor authentication (MFA), Zero Trust, Passwordless MFA, Devicesless MFA, OTP (One-Time Password) and authentication tokens.

Get in touch

Qu’est-ce que le Deviceless MFA ?

Lorsqu’on parle d’authentification forte et de tokens, on pense souvent aux smartphones, clés de sécurité et cartes à puce. Mais ces “devices” s’accompagnent de contraintes tant pour les utilisateurs que pour les développeurs et intégrateurs. La technologie du Deviceless MFA répond aux défis de la cybersécurité sans compromettre l’expérience de l’utilisateur ou la facilité de déploiement pour les entreprises.

Deviceless MFA, de quoi s’agit-il ?

Le Deviceless MFA est une technologie d’authentification multifacteurs qui permet aux utilisateurs finaux de s’authentifier et d’accéder en toute sécurité à leurs applications, leur réseau et leurs données depuis n’importe quel navigateur. Avec le Deviceless MFA, c’est le navigateur web qui devient le « token » de confiance.

Plus besoin de posséder un smartphone, ni d’avoir une clé physique, un smartphone professionnel ou un ordinateur ou encore d’installer une application spécifique.

Pourquoi utiliser la technologie du Deviceless MFA ?

Elle présente de nombreux avantages compte tenu des réalités du monde du travail actuel, de l’accès aux technologies et du paysage de la cybersécurité.

Connexion sans friction et sans contraintes d’équipement

Le Deviceless MFA est un token universel, accessible à tous et disponible immédiatement. Le processus d’enrôlement est totalement transparent pour l’utilisateur et son parcours de connexion est largement amélioré – passwordless et sans OTP à devoir saisir. Qui plus est, les utilisateurs finaux sont libérés des contraintes liées à leur équipement.

Sécurité renforcée contre les attaques de phishing

En plus de sécuriser l’accès depuis le navigateur, le Deviceless MFA est le token le plus fiable pour se protéger des attaques de phishing. Il permet de vérifier que le device de confiance est utilisé avec une application légitime, bloquant ainsi toute tentative de phishing effectuée sur un site malveillant.

Connexions “multi-user” sécurisées

Un autre avantage offert par cette technologie est la possibilité d’utiliser un même navigateur pour différents utilisateurs qui auront chacun leur propre authentification. Ceci est très utile sur les ordinateurs partagés afin de maintenir un niveau élevé de sécurité de connexion et de distinguer les différents utilisateurs utilisant les accès.

Favoriser et sécuriser le BYOD

Le Deviceless MFA est un soulagement pour les administrateurs qui n’ont plus besoin de fournir du matériel spécifique à leurs utilisateurs (prestataires de services externes, employés sans équipement informatique mobile, partenaires, etc.). C’est LE token qui permet aux entreprises de mettre en place, et surtout sécuriser, le BYOD.

Un moyen simple et rapide de déployer une solution de MFA

Lorsqu’on a un projet de MFA, il y a une urgence immédiate. Là où certaines politiques de sécurité empêchent d’installer une application, ou requièrent une procédure longue et chronophage, le Deviceless est un gain de temps. Il n’y a rien à installer, le déploiement se fait très rapidement en quelques clics, sans installation, et sans contact humain.

En quelques mots, comment cela fonctionne ?

Le Deviceless MFA s’appuie sur un JavaScript qui s’exécute dans le navigateur de l’utilisateur. Toutefois, seule la technologie des clés aléatoires dynamiques aléatoires permet de faire du Deviceless MFA et surtout de sécuriser l’authentification. Cette technologie est unique sur le marché et est brevetée par inWebo.

Consultez notre interview avec deux ingénieurs en cybersécurité pour en savoir plus sur le Deviceless MFA.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Livre blanc : L'ABC de l'authentification forte

Téléchargez notre livre blanc pour tout comprendre sur l'authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), le Zero Trust, le passwordless, le Devicesless MFA, les OTP (One-Time Password) et les tokens d'authentification.

Contactez-nous