Here comes Deviceless MFA, a revolution for the strong authentication industry

Deviceless MFA is the answer to cybersecurity challenges without compromising the user experience or ease of deployment for enterprises. What exactly is it? How does it work? What are the benefits? Interview with 2 of our cybersecurity experts, Bruno Prigent and Lorena Cabrera, both pre-sales engineers at inWebo.

What is Deviceless MFA?

B.P: In short, Deviceless MFA is what we call the browser token. It enables multi-factor strong authentication without any device (smartphone, tablet or physical key). This is a major innovation for the MFA industry.

L.C: Deviceless MFA is a means for the end user to strongly authenticate himself, in an ultra-secure way, just through his browser. No need for any specific hardware or software installation.

B.P: Exactly! With Deviceless MFA, it is the web browser (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Safari, IE, etc.) that becomes the trusted "device" (for lack of a better word) to securely authenticate to the application(s).

Deviceless MFA: Multi-factor authentication through the browser, without any specific device (smartphone, security key, smart card).

How does Deviceless MFA work?

L.C : Deviceless MFA relies on a JavaScript that runs in the user's browser.

B.P: And since all browsers know how to run JavaScript, strong authentication can be done in any type of browser, whether on a computer, a tablet or a phone.

How is it possible to ensure a highly secured authentication in a browser?

B.P: A browser cannot be considered a "safe" environment because it can be easily manipulated by a malicious individual. Only our dynamic and random keys, an exclusive and proprietary technology from inWebo, allow us to overcome this weakness.

L.C: By changing our keys randomly, simultaneously with each connection request, we ensure maximum security even in an unsecured environment. Our keys have a virtual lifetime of 0s.

B.P: Yes, the key required for the connection is generated exactly when a connection request gets through. And once used, it is expired. This means that even if a hacker gets hold of it, it won't work anymore. inWebo does more than just protect its keys: we have simply made their theft useless.

L.C: Reason why you have to pay attention to the technology behind each MFA solution. They are far from being all equal. Multi-factor authentication is certainly a very effective protection against phishing and credential stuffing attacks, but it depends on the MFA technology you are referring to. For instance, in the European PSD2 regulation on payment security, SMS-based authentication solutions are clearly identified as not secure enough.

Strong authentication offers a full protection against cyber attacks. But not just any strong authentication solution is up for the job.

Find out more about dynamic random keys technology.

Benefits of the Deviceless MFA 

A universal token, accessible to all and available immediately.

What are the benefits for the end user?

B.P: The enrollment process is completely transparent for the user and authentication is seamless. In addition, end-users are freed from the constraints related to their equipment.

L.C : Another advantage of Deviceless MFA is that the same browser can be used by different users who will each have their own authentication. This is very useful on shared computers in order to maintain a high level of connection security and distinguish the various users using the accesses.

What about for the administrators?

B.P : Deviceless MFA is a relief for the administrators. They no longer need to provide specific hardware to users (external service providers, employees without mobile computing equipment, partners, etc.). It is THE token to promote BYOD while raising its security level.

L.C : When you have an MFA project, there's an immediate emergency. Where certain security policies prevent the installation of an application, or require a long and time-consuming procedure, Deviceless is a time saver. There is nothing to install, deployment is done very quickly in a few clicks, without installation, and without needing human contact.

What about for integrators/developers?

B.P: Developers will be happy to get rid of user passwords management. They can rely on the browser token and inWebo's development libraries to quickly implement MFA for their application. And for those who don't develop, we offer ready-to-use tools that can be simply configured.

L.C: Yes and the IT teams will be able to deport and delegate the authentication to the software publisher, in this case inWebo. But that' s a good thing, because strong authentication is our speciality.

For end users

  • The best user experience
  • Accessible to all
  • Secure multi-user connections

For admins

  • Guarantee the security of all accesses without equipment constraints
  • Rapid Deployment

For integrators and developers

  • Very easy integration
  • Delegate strong authentication to a pure player specialist with no friction

Who offers the Deviceless MFA ?

B.P: Only random dynamic keys make Deviceless MFA possible and above all, ultra-secure. This technology is unique and patented by inWebo.

L.C: It is this technology that allows inWebo's MFA to offer the highest level of security in the market.

B.P : You should know that inWebo is focused UX by Design. The solution offers a wide choice of tokens which allows customers to open up the field of possibilities and end users to connect simply and quickly to their applications, whatever they may be. In addition to securing access from the browser, inWebo has taken special care to protect against phishing by verifying that the trusted device is being used with a legitimate application and not a malicious website.

L.C.: Some customers may have a solution that offers authentication based on standard protocols such as SAML or Open ID connect, or specific protocols such as Microsoft Azure AD or ADFS. Here, our technology allows them to simply add the MFA inWebo layer to offer a full browser experience to their users.

inWebo is the only player on the market offering Deviceless MFA

Conclusion

The highest security on the market regardless of your digital environment

Don't assume that all MFA solutions are equivalent in terms of security, functionality and connection experience. At a time when users are increasingly demanding, looking for more simplicity and ease of use, it is important to include the "UX" dimension in the implementation of your cybersecurity strategy.

Thanks to a large number of connectors, no matter your application, the integration of the MFA solution can be done in a few clicks. Also, inWebo supports integrators and developers in the integration process with its programming interface (API) and software development kit (SDK).

Check out our graph to help you benchmark a Multifcator Authentication MFA solution.

Bruno Prigent

Cybersecurity Sales Engineer
inWebo

Lorena Cabrera

Cybersecurity Sales Engineer
inWebo

Deviceless" strong authentication: a case study in support of digital transformation

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial

Our latest news

Request a demo

Le “Deviceless MFA”, une révolution sur le marché de l’authentification forte

Lorsqu’on parle d’authentification forte et de tokens, on pense souvent aux smartphones, clés de sécurité et cartes à puce. Mais ces “devices” s’accompagnent de contraintes tant pour les utilisateurs que pour les développeurs et intégrateurs. Le Deviceless MFA répond aux enjeux de cybersécurité sans compromettre ni l’expérience utilisateur ni la facilité de déploiement pour les entreprises. Deux de nos experts en cybersécurité, Bruno Prigent et Lorena Cabrera, ingénieurs avant-vente inWebo, répondent à toutes les questions que vous vous posez sur cette technologie exclusive.

Deviceless MFA

Qu’est ce que le “Deviceless MFA” ?

B.P : Pour résumer, le Deviceless MFA est le terme désignant le token browser, ou token navigateur, qui permet de faire de l’authentification forte multi-facteurs sans nécessiter de posséder un « device » (smartphone, tablette ou clé physique). Il s’agit d’une innovation majeure pour le MFA.

L.C : Le Deviceless MFA est un moyen pour l’utilisateur final de s’authentifier fortement, de manière ultra-sécurisée, via son navigateur, sans avoir besoin ni d’un matériel spécifique, ni d’installer un quelconque logiciel.

B.P : Exactement ! Avec le Deviceless MFA, c’est le navigateur web (edge, chrome, firefox, safari, IE, etc.) qui devient l’équipement de confiance pour s’authentifier en toute sécurité à son ou ses application(s).

Plus besoin de posséder un “device” spécifique (smartphone, clé de sécurité, carte à puce) ou d’en fournir un à vos utilisateurs pour la sécurité de leur accès, d’où le « Deviceless ».

En quelques mots, comment cela fonctionne ?

L.C : Le Deviceless MFA s’appuie sur un JavaScript qui s’exécute dans le navigateur de l’utilisateur.

B.P : Et puisque tous les navigateurs savent faire du JavaScript, cela signifie que l’authentification forte peut se faire dans n’importe quel type de navigateur, dans un ordinateur, une tablette ou un téléphone.

Comment concilier très haute sécurité et authentification dans un navigateur ?

B.P : Un navigateur ne peut être considéré comme un environnement “sûr” car il peut être facilement manipulé par un individu malveillant. Seules nos clés dynamiques et aléatoires, une technologie exclusive et propriétaire d’inWebo, nous permettent de pallier cette faiblesse.

L.C : En changeant nos clés de manière aléatoire, simultanément à chaque demande de connexion, nous offrons une sécurité maximale même dans un environnement non sécurisé. Nos clés ont, virtuellement, une durée de vie de 0s.

B.P : Oui, la clé nécessaire à la connexion est générée à l’instant t de la demande de connexion. Et une fois utilisée, elle est périmée. Même si un hacker s’en empare, elle ne fonctionnera plus. inWebo fait mieux que protéger ses clés : nous avons tout simplement rendu leur vol inutile.

L.C : Raison pour laquelle il faut bien faire attention à la technologie derrière chaque solution MFA. Elles sont loin de toutes se valoir. L’authentification multi-facteurs est certes une protection très efficace contre les attaques de phishing et de credential stuffing, mais encore faut-il préciser de quelle technologie l’on parle. Ainsi, dans la réglementation européenne DSP2 concernant la sécurité des paiements, les solutions d’authentification à base de SMS sont clairement identifiées comme non sécurisées.

L’authentification forte offre une protection complète contre les cyberattaques. Mais attention, pas n’importe quelle authentification forte.

Les + du Deviceless MFA 

Un token universel, accessible à tous et disponible immédiatement.

Quels sont les avantages pour l’utilisateur final ?

B.P : Le processus d’enrôlement est complètement transparent pour l’utilisateur et l’authentification se fait en toute simplicité. De plus, les utilisateurs finaux s’affranchissent des contraintes liées à leur équipement.

L.C : Un des avantages du Deviceless est qu’un même navigateur peut-être utilisé par différents utilisateurs qui auront chacun leur propre authentification. Très utile sur des postes partagés pour maintenir un haut niveau de sécurité des connexions et distinguer les différents personnels qui utilisent les accès.

Et pour les administrateurs ?

B.P : C’est un soulagement pour les administrateurs. Plus besoin de fournir du matériel informatique spécifique aux utilisateurs (prestataires externes, employés sans matériel informatique mobile, partenaires, etc.). C’est LE token pour favoriser le BYOD tout en montant son niveau de sécurité.

L.C : Lorsqu’on a un projet de MFA, il y a une urgence immédiate. Là où certaines politiques de sécurité empêchent d’installer une application, ou requièrent une procédure longue et chronophage, le Deviceless est un gain de temps. Il n’y a rien à installer, le déploiement se fait très rapidement en quelques clics, sans installation, et sans contact humain.

Et pour les intégrateurs / développeurs ?

B.P : Les développeurs seront heureux de ne plus avoir à gérer les mots de passe des utilisateurs. Ils peuvent s’appuyer sur le token du navigateur et les librairies de développement inWebo pour implémenter rapidement du MFA pour leur application. Et pour ceux qui ne développent pas, nous offrons des outils prêts à l’emploi qui peuvent être simplement configurés.

L.C : Oui et les équipes IT vont pouvoir déporter et déléguer l’authentification à l’éditeur de logiciel, en l’occurrence inWebo. Mais ça tombe bien, l’authentification forte, c’est notre spécialité.

Pour les utilisateurs finaux

  • La meilleure expérience utilisateur
  • Accessible à tous
  • Connexions “multi-user” sécurisées

Pour les admin

  • Garantir la sécurité de tous les accès sans contrainte d’équipement
  • Déploiement rapide

Pour les intégrateurs et développeurs

  • Intégration ultra-facile
  • Déléguer, sans friction, l’authentification forte à un spécialiste

Qui propose le Deviceless MFA ?

B.P : Seules les clés dynamiques aléatoires rendent le Deviceless MFA possible et surtout, ultra-sécurisé. Cette technologie est unique et brevetée inWebo.

L.C : C’est d’ailleurs cette techno qui permet au MFA d’inWebo d’offrir le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché.

B.P : Il faut savoir que inWebo est centrée UX by Design. La solution offre un large choix en matière de token ce qui permet aux clients d’ouvrir le champ des possibilités et aux utilisateurs finaux de se connecter simplement et rapidement à leurs applications, quelles qu’elles soient. Précisons qu’en plus de sécuriser les accès depuis le navigateur, inWebo a apporté un soin particulier à la protection contre le phishing en vérifiant que le device de confiance est utilisé avec une application légitime et non un site malveillant.

L.C : Il arrive que certains clients aient une solution qui propose une authentification basée sur des protocoles standards comme SAML ou Open ID connect, ou spécifiques tels que Microsoft Azure AD ou ADFS. Notre technologie leur permet ici d’ajouter très simplement la couche MFA inWebo pour offrir une expérience full navigateur à leurs utilisateurs.

inWebo est le seul acteur du marché proposant le Deviceless MFA

Conclusion

La plus haute sécurité du marché quel que soit votre environnement digital

Ne partez pas du postulat que les solutions MFA sont toutes équivalentes en termes de sécurité, de fonctionnalités et d’expérience de connexion. A l’heure où les utilisateurs sont de plus en plus exigeants, à la recherche de plus de simplicité et de facilité d’usage, il est important d’inclure la dimension “UX” dans la mise en place de sa stratégie de cybersécurité.

Grâce à un grand nombre de connecteurs, peu importe votre application, l’intégration de la solution MFA peut se faire en quelques clics. Aussi, inWebo accompagne les intégrateurs et développeurs dans le processus d’intégration avec son interface de programmation (API) et son kit de développement (SDK).

Consultez notre infographie pour vous aider dans le benchmark d’une solution MFA.

Bruno Prigent

Cybersecurity Sales Engineer
inWebo

Lorena Cabrera

Cybersecurity Sales Engineer
inWebo

L’authentification forte « Deviceless » : cas d’usage dans l’accompagnement de la transformation digitale

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l’ouverture de votre compte de test

Nos dernières actualités

Contactez-nous