What is an OTP - One-time password?

A one-time password (OTP) is an automatically generated sequence of numeric or alphanumeric characters that will authenticate a user for a single login or transaction. It is used in a multifactor authentication (MFA) process to secure access to data.

Login-app-password

What exactly is a one-time password (OTP)?

A one-time password is a password that has two fundamental properties : it expires quickly, and it can’t be reused. You will frequently hear the abbreviation OTP as well as the terms "OTP key" and "OTP code".

OTPs are usually numeric or alphanumeric (letters and numbers) strings and are generated for a single login procedure. This means that after a user logs in with a one-time password, it is no longer valid and cannot be used for future logins.

OTP passwords are commonly used as part of a multifactor authentication (MFA/2FA) procedure. This applies, for example, to financial services (notably following the requirements of the PSD2 directive) and is becoming increasingly common to secure access to business applications or a corporate network.

How does it work?

One-time passwords are based on an algorithm that creates a new and random code each time that a password is requested. But to fully understand how an OTP works, there are two components to consider: the OTP generator and the authentication server. Let’s dive deeper into these 2 components.

The OTP generator

The OTP generator will provide the user with a unique password generated on:

  • something that the user has (an authentication token)
  • a Time-based One-time Password (TOTP) - which is an OTP where the moving factor is time-based
  • a HMAC-based One-time Password algorithm (HOTP) - which is an event-based OTP where the moving factor is counter-based rather then time-based

Depending on the MFA solution that is at the origin of the OTP, the OTP generator can also include something that the user knows (e.g a PIN code). This is why it is important to carefully look if your MFA solution is based on multiple or only 1 factor.

Check out our graph that will help you benchmark your MFA solution.

The authentication server

Once the OTP generator has provided the user with a unique password as seen above, the authentication server must verify the OTP.

What are the benefits of an OTP?

Prevent online identity theft

One of the great advantages of using one-time passwords to secure access is that they become invalid within a few seconds, which prevents hackers from retrieving the secret codes and reusing them.

Reduce support from IT team

When choosing an MFA solution that is natively 2-factor, and therefore where along with the OTP there is no need to require the user to enter the combination login & password (passwordless MFA solution) - then and again only then - IT support teams are less likely to be solicited from end-users for password resets. For sure, end-users are unlikely to make a mistake with a simple knowledge factor such as a PIN code to be remembered. It’s a win-win for users and support teams.

Overcome password security issues

Once again, this is the case only when going for a passwordless authentication that is natively 2-factor. IT administrators and CISOs can avoid the common issues encountered when it comes to password security (weak passwords, sharing credentials, reusing the same password across multiple accounts and systems, etc.).

With inWebo, it also improves user experience

While some MFA solutions will send OTP by push notification or SMS to users, asking them to retype and enter it in their login window, inWebo MFA generates and validates OTPs in a way that improves the users login experience. Indeed, the solution will silently generate and validate the OTP, in a transparent way for the user, allow him/her to have a simple and passwordless login experience.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrolment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

White Paper: The ABCs of Authentication

Download our free ebook to fully understand multifactor authentication (MFA), Zero Trust, Passwordless MFA, Devicesless MFA, OTP (One-Time Password) and authentication tokens.

Get in touch

Qu’est-ce qu’un OTP – One-time password ?

Un mot de passe à usage unique – en anglais, one-time password (OTP) – est une séquence de caractères numériques ou alphanumériques générée automatiquement qui permet d’authentifier un utilisateur pour une seule connexion ou transaction. Un OTP est utilisé dans un processus d’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA) pour sécuriser l’accès aux données.

Login-app-password

Un mot de passe à usage unique (OTP), c’est quoi exactement ?

Un mot de passe à usage unique est un mot de passe qui possède deux propriétés fondamentales : il expire rapidement et il ne peut pas être réutilisé. On entendra fréquemment l’abréviation OTP ainsi que les termes « clé OTP » et « code OTP ».

Les OTP sont généralement composés de caractères numériques ou alphanumériques (lettres et chiffres) et sont générés pour une seule et unique connexion. Cela signifie qu’après qu’un utilisateur s’est connecté avec un mot de passe à usage unique, ce dernier ne peut plus être utilisé pour de futures connexions.

Les OTP sont connus pour être utilisés dans le cadre d’une procédure d’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA/2FA). Cela s’applique, par exemple, aux services financiers (notamment suite aux exigences de la directive DSP2) et devient de plus en plus couramment utilisé pour sécuriser l’accès aux applications professionnelles ou au réseau de l’entreprise.

Comment fonctionne les OTP ?

Les mots de passe à usage unique sont basés sur un algorithme qui génère un code nouveau et aléatoire à chaque fois qu’un mot de passe est demandé. Pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement d’un OTP, il faut tenir compte de deux éléments : le générateur d’OTP et le serveur d’authentification. Examinons de plus près ces deux composants.

Le générateur d’OTP

Il fournit à l’utilisateur un mot de passe unique généré à partir :

  • quelque chose que l’utilisateur possède (un token d’authentification)
  • un Time-based One Time password (TOTP) – qui est type d’OTP où le facteur de déplacement est basé sur le temps
  • un HMAC-based One-time Password (HOTP) – HMAC correspondant à un “Hashed Message Authentication Code” – qui est un type d’OTP basé sur un événement où le facteur de déplacement concerne un compteur plutôt que sur le temps

Selon la solution d’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA) qui est à l’origine du mot de passe unique, le générateur d’OTP peut également inclure quelque chose que l’utilisateur connaît (par exemple un code PIN). C’est pourquoi il est important d’examiner attentivement si votre solution MFA est basée sur plusieurs ou un seul facteur.

Consultez notre infographie qui vous aidera à évaluer votre solution MFA.

Le serveur d’authentification

Une fois que le générateur d’OTP a fourni à l’utilisateur un mot de passe unique, comme indiqué ci-dessus, le serveur d’authentification a pour mission de vérifier l’OTP.

Quels avantages en passant par une authentification via OTP ?

Se protéger contre l’usurpation d’identité en ligne

L’un des grands avantages liés à l’utilisation de mots de passe à usage unique pour sécuriser l’accès est qu’ils deviennent invalides en quelques secondes, ce qui empêche les pirates de récupérer les codes secrets et de les réutiliser.

Optimiser le temps de travail des équipes de support IT

Si vous optez pour une solution MFA à deux facteurs où grâce à l’OTP il n’est pas nécessaire de demander à l’utilisateur de saisir la combinaison login et mot de passe (solution MFA passwordless), alors, et seulement alors, les équipes de support informatique seront moins sollicitées par les utilisateurs finaux pour la réinitialisation des mots de passe. En effet, il est peu probable que ces derniers commettent une erreur avec un simple facteur de connaissance tel qu’un code PIN à mémoriser. C’est une situation gagnant-gagnant pour les utilisateurs et les équipes IT.

Surmonter les problèmes de sécurité des mots de passe

Une fois encore, ce n’est le cas que si vous optez pour une solution MFA qui est nativement à 2 facteurs. Permettant une authentification passwordless, l’OTP élimine les problèmes courants rencontrés en matière de sécurité des mots de passe (mots de passe faibles, partage des informations d’identification, réutilisation du même mot de passe sur plusieurs applications et comptes, etc.).

Améliorer l’expérience utilisateur avec inWebo MFA

inWebo MFA génère et valide les OTP d’une manière qui améliore l’expérience de connexion des utilisateurs. En effet, alors que certaines solutions MFA envoient l’OTP aux utilisateurs par notification push, leur demandant ensuite de le saisir manuellement dans leur fenêtre de connexion, la technologie d’inWebo permet de les générer et les valider de manière transparente pour l’utilisateur. Résultat : l’utilisateur bénéficie d’une expérience de connexion simple et sans mot de passe.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Livre blanc : L'ABC de l'authentification forte

Téléchargez notre livre blanc pour tout comprendre sur l'authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), le Zero Trust, le passwordless, le Devicesless MFA, les OTP (One-Time Password) et les tokens d'authentification.

Demandez une demo