What is Zero Trust?

A single and traditional validation is far from being enough to secure access and data. Find out how Multifactor Authentication (MFA) can help you implement a Zero Trust security policy.

Zero Trust MFA

What exactly is Zero Trust?

It is the name given to an IT security model which requires all users and devices, them being inside or outside the organization’s network perimeter, to be authenticated and authorized to access networks, applications, and data.

When it comes to Zero Trust, a single and traditional validation is far from being enough. Threats and user attributes are likely to change and cyberattacks are getting more and more sophisticated.

Therefore, organisations must ensure that all access requests are continuously verified before allowing connection to any assets (network, apps, etc).

Where does the concept come from?

It is not just one of the latest cybersecurity’s buzzwords. The model was actually created in 2010 by John Kindervag, a former Forrester Research analyst, also considered as one of the world's foremost cybersecurity experts. Driven by the "never trust, always check" principle, implementing a Zero Trust strategy aims to protect modern digital environments.

What technology is behind Zero Trust?

There is no specific product or solution that enables organizations to achieve Zero Trust alone. The “Zero trust networks” or “Zero Trust architectures'' is a global approach to the design and implementation of IT networks which calls upon several different principles and technologies.

In 2021, 42 percent of respondents from a global survey report that they have plans to adopt a zero trust strategy and are in the early phases of doing so. In general, 72 percent of respondents have plans of adopting zero trust in the future or have already adopted it.¹

Why is a Zero Trust approach important?

Zero Trust policies are taken at a strategic level to establish, monitor and maintain secure perimeters within the access to networks, applications, and data.

As users are becoming increasingly mobile and facing sophisticated cyberthreat, organisations can be expected to quickly adopt a Zero Trust security mindset to minimize the spread of breaches and their consequences, whether financial or brand-related. It is especially critical as companies tend to increase the number of endpoints within their network and expand their infrastructure to include cloud-based applications and servers.

How can MFA help you achieve Zero Trust?

While there is no one-size-fits-all solution, there are some essential elements to any Zero Trust device, including MFA.

MFA Multifactor Authentication in a Zero Trust approach

Multifactor authentication (MFA), or strong authentication, is a key component to achieving Zero Trust. It adds a layer of security to access a network, application or database by requiring additional factors to prove the identity of users.

However, not all MFA solutions are the same as the technologies behind them are quite different. There are several criteria to consider when evaluating the security and user experience of the different vendors.

What is Zero Trust?

Zero Trust is the name given to an IT security model which requires all users and devices, them being inside or outside the organization’s network perimeter, to be authenticated and authorized to access networks, applications, and data. Zero Trust policies are taken at a strategic level to establish, monitor and maintain secure perimeters within the access to networks, applications, and data.

How to implement Zero Trust? Which solutions?

While there is no single solution for creating a Zero Trust environment and each organization's needs are unique, there are solutions for prevention. A multi-factor authentication solution MFA and an identity and access orchestrator are essential solutions for creating a Zero Trust environment.

How does MFA fit into a Zero Trust policy?

Multi-factor authentication (MFA) is a key component to achieving Zero Trust as it adds a layer of security to access a network, application or database by requiring additional factors to prove the identity of users. Though it is important to keep in mind that not all MFA solution are alike.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrollment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

White Paper: The ABCs of Authentication

Download our free ebook to fully understand multifactor authentication (MFA), Zero Trust, Passwordless MFA, Devicesless MFA, OTP (One-Time Password) and authentication tokens.

Request a demo

Qu’est-ce que le Zero Trust ?

Une simple validation traditionnelle est loin d’être suffisante pour assurer la sécurité des accès et des données. Découvrez comment l’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA) peut vous aider dans la mise en place d’une politique de sécurité Zero Trust.

Zero Trust MFA

Le « Zero Trust », c’est quoi exactement ?

Il s’agit du nom donné à un modèle de sécurité informatique qui exige que tous les utilisateurs et appareils (devices), se trouvant à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du périmètre du réseau de l’organisation, soient authentifiés et validés à accéder aux réseaux, aux applications et aux données.

Lorsqu’il s’agit de Zero Trust, une simple validation traditionnelle est loin d’être suffisante pour assurer la sécurité des accès et des données. Les attributs des utilisateurs sont susceptibles de changer (lieux de connexion, appareils de confiance utilisés, etc) alors que les cybermenaces évoluent et que les cyberattaques sont de plus en plus sophistiquées.

Les organisations doivent donc s’assurer que toutes les demandes d’accès sont vérifiées en permanence avant d’autoriser la connexion aux ressources (réseau, applications, etc.).

D’où vient le concept ?

Il ne s’agit pas qu’un des derniers mots à la mode en matière de cybersécurité. Le concept a été créé en 2010 par John Kindervag, un ancien analyste de Forrester Research, également considéré comme l’un des plus grands experts au monde en matière de cybersécurité. Guidé par le principe « ne jamais faire confiance, toujours vérifier », la mise en œuvre d’une telle stratégie vise à protéger les environnements digitaux modernes avec des utilisateurs toujours plus mobiles et connectés.

Sur quelle technologie repose le principe de Zero Trust ?

Il n’existe pas de produit ou de solution spécifique permettant aux organisations d’atteindre un environnement de Zero Trust. Les réseaux ou architectures Zero Trust sont une approche globale de la conception et de la mise en œuvre des réseaux informatiques qui repose sur plusieurs principes et technologies différents.

Pourquoi est-il important d’adopter une approche Zero Trust ?

Une politique Zero Trust est adoptée à un niveau stratégique pour établir, surveiller et maintenir des périmètres sécurisés pour l’accès aux réseaux, aux applications et aux données.

À mesure que les utilisateurs deviennent de plus en plus mobiles et vulnérables face à des cybermenaces toujours plus élaborées, on peut s’attendre à ce que les organisations adoptent rapidement une telle politique de sécurité. Ceci afin de minimiser la propagation des attaques et leurs conséquences, qu’elles soient financières ou réputationnelles. Cette démarche est d’autant plus critique que les entreprises ont tendance à augmenter le nombre de points d’entrée au sein de leur réseau et à étendre leur infrastructure pour y inclure des applications et serveurs hébergés dans le Cloud.

Comment le MFA peut-il vous aider à instaurer une politique de Zero Trust ?

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de solution unique pour établir un environnement Zero Trust au sein d’organisations qui ont toutes des besoins spécifiques, il existe des éléments incontournables dans tout dispositif Zero Trust, dont le MFA.

L’authentification multi-facteurs MFA dans une démarche Zero Trust

L’authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), ou authentification forte, est un maillon essentiel des politiques de sécurité. Elle permet de renforcer la sécurité des accès à un réseau, une application ou une base de données en imposant aux utilisateurs de prouver leur identité et de fournir des informations de vérification supplémentaires, appelées « facteurs d’authentification ».

Il convient toutefois de noter que toutes les solutions d’authentification forte (MFA) ne se valent pas car les technologies utilisées sont souvent très différentes. Il y a plusieurs critères à prendre en compte pour évaluer la sécurité et l’expérience utilisateur promise par les différentes solutions.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Livre blanc : L'ABC de l'authentification forte

Téléchargez notre livre blanc pour tout comprendre sur l'authentification multi-facteurs (MFA), le Zero Trust, le passwordless, le Devicesless MFA, les OTP (One-Time Password) et les tokens d'authentification.

Contactez-nous