What is PBAC, and how is it any different from ABAC?

With the rapid advancement in technology, there has been a massive migration of industries and large organizations to the cloud. Almost every one of the industries’ resources, data, and other IT entities is now transferred and stored on the cloud. With this new development, it is almost imperative also to have increased and more effective security measures in place to deter any form of cloud security threats.

PBAC vs ABAC

PBAC (Policy Based Access Control) and ABAC (Attribute Based Access Control) are access control measures that provide security in these regards. But what and how exactly do they provide security? How are they any different from one another? This article will comprehensively discuss the relationship between the two access control measures.

Policy Based Access Control

Policy Based Access Control, or PBAC, is an access control strategy that integrates a user’s role with the policies set by the organization to grant authorized access to the system. These policies are centered around the user’s roles and some other characteristics within the organization. In other words, PBAC grants access to a secured system based on the policies laid down by the company. To some extent, the user’s role is considered but not as thoroughly as the Role Based Access Control (RBAC)¹.

What are the components of PBAC?

PBAC, like any other access control measure, affects these three basic elements: subject, object, and request or action. The subject is the user requesting access to the secured file or system. The subject is determined based on the title, division, qualifications, certifications, or training. The object is the resource or entity that the subject wants to access. It could be a project, a file or document, or even money. The request/action is the operation that is being carried out. It could be access, purchase, or grant. Then, for PBAC, the policies would be the principles that the organization has laid down whenever a secured entity is to be accessed.

So, if in a company, the policy says only team leaders who've been in the post for five years can access a secured file, that means that the subject has to be a team leader (Title), the object is the secured file, and the action is Access. All three elements are in check; however, if the team leader has only been so for three years, their access to the file is denied because of the policy, even though they meet the criteria for the basic elements.

The policy established by the company or organization is therefore a decisive factor in the implementation of a PBAC strategy.

Attribute Based Access Control

Attribute-Based Access Control, or ABAC, is another access control strategy that grants access based on the user's attributes. This control strategy contains three elements: subject, object, and action. The environment is also part of its elements and could include location, device or time.

PBAC vs ABAC

ABAC allows access based on the user's attributes, and instead of manually marching the relationship between a subject and an object, it is pretty automated. Once a subject's attributes change, the subject's access changes as well.

In a company, all team members can access a secured project file from 9-5 every day, but only a team leader can access it beyond 5 and till 9.

This means that, in the first case, the subject is the team members, the object is the secured file, the action is access, and the environmental factor is time (9-5). This implies that you can't access the file until you fulfill the first three elements. You have to be a team member requesting permission to a particular secured file, and all you want is to access it. Then, you have a permit to access the file from 9-5; anything beyond that is not allowed unless the subject is a team leader.

If perhaps, one of the team members now becomes a team leader, the attribute has changed so that the access will change too automatically. The new team leader can now access the file beyond 5. The security experts don't have to adjust the permission of new team members manually. All they have to do is change the attribute.

Effectiveness and limitations of PBAC and ABAC

Both ABAC and PBAC have their advantages and their disadvantages. Below, this article will discuss how useful they are and where their shortfalls lie.

ABAC, a powerful system in many ways

  • Automation: With ABAC, you don't have to manage access control manually. Once the control system is set up and all the attributes of every person in the organization are defined, ABAC becomes automated. So, instead of manually changing access when roles or rules, or policies change, previous access is revoked for the subject once their attributes are modified. Corresponding permission is granted automatically.
  • Granularity: Once set up, ABAC is not as complicated or complex to control. If any changes were to occur in the system, they would be changes in the subject's attributes. It is easier to maintain without having to create and modify roles constantly.
  • Security/Privacy Elements: The security level of ABAC is up to par. It can be used in large companies and organizations to protect corporate and clients' files and resources by limiting and controlling their access.

ABAC, a complex model with limited visibility

  • Complexity: ABAC is not a complex access control strategy once the setup is in place. However, putting the setup in place is where the complexity lies. It consumes time, effort, and energy to gather attributes of every person and then structure towards the other elements that fit their description to attain precision and accuracy without any errors.
  • Lack of transparency and visibility: ABAC lacks the transparency and visibility that other access control measures have. It is quite hard to point out and identify each resource that a user can enter; unlike RBAC, which uses roles and PBAC, policies, ABAC requires a thorough verification to know what subject can access what resource.

PBAC, a flexible model with high adaptability

  • Flexibility: PBAC is flexible to use on whatever technology, device, or application. All you need to keep in check is the policy, which will reflect in all aspects of the secured system and apply to every user who wants to gain access.
  • Scalability: It is quite scalable and not too complex to use. You only have to write a policy once, and it will affect every aspect every time a user requests access. You don't have to depend on the IT team to take control solely; the policy laid down can easily be implemented by the users with authorized access. The policy applies for the ongoing project, the next, and the next until there is a change in the organization's policy.

PBAC compatibility issues

As exciting and easy to implement as it sounds, PBAC might not be compatible with all organizations. This is because not all of them can lay down policies that would affect access to sensitive resources without compromising security. It is not every company's cup of tea.

PBAC vs ABAC: Which solution should I choose for my organization?

As far as security is concerned, both solutions are up to the task and are quite effective in keeping cyber threats at bay. However, ABAC allows for a higher level of security and other access control models. It is also quite elaborate and is used in larger organizations because of its complexity and the cost of setting it up.

PBAC and ABAC can be supplemented or even replaced by a Persona-based approach. The new version of the inWebo IAM solution offers this evolution.

What is PBAC?

Policy Based Access Control, or PBAC, is an access control strategy that integrates a user’s role with the policies set by the organization to grant authorized access to the system. PBAC, like any other access control measure, affects these three basic elements: subject, object, and request or action.

What is ABAC?

ABAC (Attribute-Based Access Control) is an access control strategy containing 3 elements : subject, object and action. ABAC allows access based on the user's attributes, and instead of manually marching the relationship between a subject and an object, it is pretty automated. Once a subject's attributes change, the subject's access changes as well.

Why implement an access control strategy?

In a fast-growing digital world, large organizations and businesses are increasingly relying on the cloud to store their resources, data and other IT entities. An effective and appropriate access control strategy is therefore essential to prevent any form of threat to cloud security.

Don't settle for just any MFA solution

Get in touch for a demo or to request a free trial of our multifactor authentication solution

Highest level of security on the market

inWebo MFA features the unique and patented technology of dynamic random keys. This ensures the highest level of security on the market. Solution certified by the French National Cybersecurity Agency (ANSSI).

Easy integration and deployment

Accessible in Saas, rich in connectors, API and SDK, a solution that adapts to your technical architecture, without imposing new constraints. Deploy MFA quickly and on a very large scale, without human contact or logistics.

Passwordless and deviceless user experience

inWebo allows you to offer a simplified user experience, extended to all dimensions of authentication, from enrollment to login thanks to its universal, passwordless and deviceless tokens.

Receive all the latest news on strong authentication

Our latest news

Request a demo

PBAC vs ABAC : quelles différences ?

Avec l’évolution rapide de la technologie, on assiste à une migration massive des industries et des grandes organisations vers le cloud. Presque toutes les ressources, données et autres entités informatiques des entreprises y sont désormais stockées. Ce nouveau développement implique la mise en place de mesures de sécurité renforcées et plus efficaces afin de prévenir toute forme de menace pesant sur la sécurité du cloud.

PBAC vs ABAC

Le contrôle d’accès basé sur des politiques − « Policy Based Access Control » en anglais (PBAC) − et le contrôle d’accès basé sur des attributs − « Attribute Based Access Control » (ABAC) − sont des dispositifs de contrôle d’accès qui assurent la sécurité au sein des organisations. Mais qu’offrent-ils comme sécurité, et sur quels principes fonctionnent-ils exactement ? En quoi ces systèmes sont-ils différents l’un de l’autre ?

Policy Based Access Control

Le Policy Based Access Control, ou PBAC, est une stratégie de contrôle d’accès qui intègre le rôle d’un utilisateur aux politiques définies par l’organisation pour accorder un accès autorisé au système. Ces politiques sont centrées sur les rôles de l’utilisateur et certaines autres caractéristiques au sein de l’organisation. En d’autres termes, le PBAC accorde l’accès à un système sécurisé en fonction des politiques établies par l’entreprise. Dans une certaine mesure, le rôle de l’utilisateur est pris en compte, mais pas de manière aussi approfondie que dans le cas du RBAC (Role Based Access Control)¹.

Quelles sont les composantes du PBAC ?

Le PBAC, comme toute autre mesure de contrôle d’accès, agit sur ces trois éléments de base : le sujet, l’objet et la demande d’accès ou l’action. Le sujet est l’utilisateur qui demande l’accès au fichier ou au système sécurisé. Il est déterminé en fonction du titre, de la division, des qualifications, des certifications ou de la formation. L’objet est la ressource ou l’entité à laquelle le sujet veut accéder. Il peut s’agir d’un projet, d’un fichier, d’un document ou même d’argent. La demande/action est l’opération qui est effectuée. Il peut s’agir d’un accès, d’un achat ou d’une subvention. Pour le PBAC, les politiques correspondent aux principes que l’organisation a établis chaque fois qu’il est nécessaire d’accéder à un actif sécurisé.

Ainsi, si dans une entreprise la politique stipule que seuls les chefs d’équipe en poste depuis cinq ans peuvent accéder à un fichier sécurisé, cela signifie que le sujet doit être un chef d’équipe (Titre), que l’objet est le fichier sécurisé et que l’action est l’accès. Les trois éléments sont vérifiés; cependant, si le chef d’équipe n’est en poste que depuis trois ans, son accès au fichier lui est refusé en raison de la politique adoptée, même s’il répond aux critères des éléments de base.

La politique établie par l’entreprise ou l’organisation constitue donc un facteur décisif dans la mise en place d’une stratégie PBAC.

Attribute Based Access Control

L’Attribute Based Access Control, ou ABAC, est une autre stratégie de contrôle d’accès qui accorde l’accès en fonction des attributs de l’utilisateur. Cette stratégie de contrôle contient trois éléments : le sujet, l’objet et l’action. L’environnement fait également partie de ses éléments et peut inclure le lieu, le dispositif ou le temps.

PBAC vs ABAC

L’ABAC permet l’accès sur la base des attributs de l’utilisateur. Au lieu de faire défiler manuellement la relation entre un sujet et un objet, l’accès est plutôt automatisé. Lorsque les attributs d’un sujet changent, l’accès du sujet change également.

Dans une entreprise, tous les membres de l’équipe peuvent accéder à un fichier sécurisé de 9h à 17h tous les jours, mais seul un chef d’équipe peut y accéder après 17h et jusqu’à 21h.

Ainsi, dans le premier cas, le sujet correspond aux membres de l’équipe, l’objet est le fichier sécurisé, l’action est l’accès et le facteur environnemental est le temps (9h-17h). Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas accéder au fichier tant que vous n’avez pas rempli les trois premiers éléments. Vous devez donc être un membre de l’équipe demandant l’autorisation d’accéder à un fichier sécurisé particulier, et tout ce que vous voulez, c’est y accéder. Vous disposez ensuite d’une autorisation pour accéder au fichier de 9 à 17 heures ; en dehors de cette période, aucune action n’est autorisée, sauf si le sujet est un chef d’équipe.

Si l’un des membres de l’équipe devient chef d’équipe, l’attribut est modifié de sorte que l’accès change automatiquement. Le nouveau chef d’équipe peut dès lors accéder au fichier au-delà de 17h. Les experts en sécurité n’ont quant à eux pas besoin d’ajuster manuellement les autorisations des nouveaux membres. Tout ce qu’ils ont à faire est de changer l’attribut.

Efficacité et limites des systèmes PBAC et ABAC

L’ABAC et le PBAC ont tous deux leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients. Nous allons à présent examiner dans quelles mesures ces systèmes sont efficaces et où se situent leurs faiblesses.

L’ABAC, un système performant à différents titres

  • Automatisation : Avec l’ABAC, vous n’avez pas à gérer le contrôle d’accès manuellement. Une fois le système de contrôle mis en place et les attributs de chaque membre de l’organisation définis, le système ABAC devient automatisé. Ainsi, au lieu de modifier manuellement l’accès lorsque les rôles, les règles ou les politiques changent, l’accès précédent est révoqué pour le sujet une fois que ses attributs sont modifiés. La permission correspondante est accordée automatiquement.
  • Granularité : Une fois configuré, l’ABAC n’est pas si compliqué à contrôler. Si des changements devaient se produire dans le système, il s’agirait de changements dans les attributs du sujet. Le système est donc plus facile à maintenir car il n’est pas nécessaire de créer et de modifier constamment les rôles.
  • Éléments de sécurité/confidentialité : L’ABAC offre un niveau de sécurité élevé. Il peut être utilisé dans les grandes entreprises et organisations pour protéger les fichiers et les ressources des sociétés et des clients en limitant et en contrôlant leur accès.

L’ABAC, un modèle complexe qui offre une visibilité limitée

  • Complexité : La stratégie ABAC n’est pas très complexe une fois la configuration terminée. Cependant, la mise en place de cette configuration s’avère particulièrement difficile. Il faut du temps, des efforts et de l’énergie pour rassembler les attributs de chaque personne et les structurer en fonction des autres éléments qui correspondent à leur description. L’objectif est d’atteindre un haut niveau de précision et d’éviter toute erreur.
  • Manque de transparence et de visibilité : L’ABAC ne présente pas le même niveau de transparence et de visibilité que les autres mesures de contrôle d’accès. Il est relativement difficile d’identifier chaque ressource à laquelle un utilisateur peut accéder. Contrairement au RBAC, qui utilise les rôles, et au PBAC, qui utilise les politiques, l’ABAC nécessite une vérification approfondie pour savoir quel sujet peut accéder à quelle ressource.

Le PBAC, un modèle flexible à forte adaptabilité

  • Flexibilité : Le PBAC est flexible et peut être utilisé sur n’importe quelle technologie, appareil ou application. Tout ce que vous devez contrôler, c’est la politique, qui se reflétera dans tous les aspects du système sécurisé et s’appliquera à chaque utilisateur qui souhaite y accéder.
  • Scalabilité : Ce système est assez flexible et facile d’utilisation. Il vous suffit de rédiger une politique une seule fois, et celle-ci affectera tous les paramètres à chaque fois qu’un utilisateur fera une demande d’accès. Vous ne dépendez plus exclusivement de l’équipe informatique pour prendre le contrôle ; la politique définie peut facilement être mise en œuvre par les utilisateurs disposant d’un accès autorisé. Elle s’applique au projet en cours, ainsi qu’aux projets à venir, et ce jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait un changement dans la politique de l’organisation.

Les problèmes de compatibilité du système PBAC

Aussi passionnant et facile à mettre en œuvre qu’il puisse paraître, le PBAC n’est pas nécessairement compatible avec toutes les organisations. En effet, toutes ne sont pas en mesure d’établir des politiques qui affecteraient l’accès aux ressources sensibles sans compromettre la sécurité. Toutes les entreprises n’y trouveront pas leur compte.

PBAC vs ABAC : Quelle solution choisir pour mon organisation ?

En matière de sécurité, les deux solutions se montrent à la hauteur et sont assez efficaces pour tenir les cybermenaces à distance. Le système ABAC permet toutefois d’atteindre un niveau de sécurité plus élevé que les autres modèles de contrôle d’accès. Il est également relativement élaboré et est utilisé dans les grandes organisations en raison de sa complexité et du coût de sa mise en place.

PBAC et ABAC peuvent être complétés ou même remplacés par une approche à base de Persona. La nouvelle version de la solution IAM d’inWebo propose cette évolution.

Qu’est-ce que le PBAC ?

Le contrôle d’accès basé sur la politique, ou « Policy Based Access Control » en anglais (PBAC) est une stratégie de contrôle d’accès intégrant le rôle d’un utilisateur aux politiques de l’organisation afin d’accorder un accès autorisé à un système. Le PBAC, comme toute autre mesure de contrôle d’accès, agit sur ces trois éléments de base : le sujet, l’objet et la demande d’accès ou l’action.

Qu’est ce que l’ABAC ?

Le contrôle d’accès basé sur l’attribut, ou « Attribute Based Access Control » en anglais (ABAC) est une stratégie de contrôle d’accès contenant 3 éléments : le sujet, l’objet et l’action. Cette dernière confère des accès sur la base des attributs des utilisateurs. Au lieu de faire défiler manuellement la relation entre un sujet et un objet, l’accès est automatisé. Lorsque les attributs d’un sujet changent, l’accès du sujet change également.

Pourquoi mettre en place une stratégie de contrôle des accès ?

Dans un monde digital en pleine expansion, les grandes organisations et entreprises font de plus en plus confiance au cloud et y stockent leurs ressources, données et autres entités informatiques. La mise en place d’une stratégie de contrôle des accès efficace et adaptée est alors indispensable pour prévenir toute forme de menace pesant sur la sécurité du cloud.

L'authentification forte MFA sans compromis

Contactez-nous pour une démo ou pour demander l'ouverture de votre compte de test

Très haut niveau de sécurité

inWebo MFA détient la technologie unique et brevetée des clés dynamiques aléatoires qui lui permet de proposer le plus haut niveau de sécurité du marché. Solution certifiée par l’ANSSI.

Intégration et déploiement facile

Accessible en Saas, riche en connecteurs, API et SDK, inWebo MFA s’adapte à vos contraintes techniques, sans vous en imposer de nouvelles. Déployez un MFA rapidement et à grande échelle, sans contact humain et sans logistique.

Expérience utilisateur passwordless et deviceless

inWebo vous permet d’offrir une expérience utilisateur simplifiée, étendue à toutes les dimensions de l’authentification, de l’enrôlement à la connexion grâce à ses tokens universels, passwordless et deviceless.

Recevez toute l'actualité de l'authentification forte

Nos dernières actualités

Demandez une demo